God is so faithful to His children!  In late 2010, I was diagnosed with high blood pressure, and I didn’t understand because I was eating healthy, but what I didn’t take into consideration was my lack of sleep hours and everyday stress levels.   At that time, my doctor said it was probably hereditary, and I may have to deal with it for the rest of my life.  Of course, that was a report I did not agree with nor receive into my spirit!  I was determined to rid  myself of this medication, and in October of 2011 my perscription ended, and I decided not to refill it.  I monitored myself and things seemed normal.  I was so excited because my approach was holistic and spiritual!  Last week the devil tried something crazy, and when I monitored my pressure it was ridiculously high!  I had allowed worry and stress to creep in just for a second, and it offset my health.  Immediately my prayer partner and I prayed over my situation, and within and hour my pressure was normal again.  So I made an appointment to follow with my primary care doctor.

As I walked into the doctor’s office my mind began to race, wondering if I would have to explain why I decided to take myself off of the blood pressure medicine.  The routine steps were taken to check my weight, heart rate, and blood pressure.  The nurse turned to me shortly after and said, “Your pressure is great!  How long have you been off of the medicine?”  I told her since last October, and she said the doctor would be in soon.  Before long, my doctor walked in and took my pressure again.  She asked me a series of questions, and we discussed my history and monitored notes.  She said she didn’t see any reason to put me back on the medicine, and to keep doing whatever I was doing.  She said the day my pressure rose seemed to have been due to the stress level in my life, and at that moment I had an epiphany!  STRESS is NOT welcomed in my life!!!  No forms of it!!!  I had allowed worry and stress to enter in, and God showed me that’s how quickly it can offset your life.  For me, I know that experience was meant to happen to teach me a valuable lesson…”Before allowing the cares of this world to infiltrate your life you should stop, pray, and release it to God!”  My vow is to release it all to Him before I do anything else.  I refuse to allow those things to affect me in such a negative way ever again.  It’s just not worth it!

As I type this note, I feel extremely blessed!  My body is a temple, and I’m going to treat it as such.  I pray that you too will do the same.  Check out what Web MD has to say about preventing high blood pressure!

“About 1 in every 4 American adults has high blood pressure, also called hypertension, which is a major risk factor for heart and kidney diseasesstroke, and heart failure. High blood pressure is especially dangerous because it often gives no warning signs or symptoms. Fortunately, you can find out if you have high blood pressure by having your blood pressure checked regularly. If it is high, you can take steps to lower it. Just as important, if your blood pressure is normal, you can learn how to keep it from becoming high.”

You can prevent high blood pressure by:

  • Maintaining a healthy weight. Being overweight can make you two to six times more likely to develop high blood pressure than if you are at your desirable weight. Even small amounts of weight loss can make a big difference in helping to prevent and treat high blood pressure.
  • Getting regular exercise: People who are physically active have a lower risk of getting high blood pressure — 20%-50% lower — than people who are not active. You don’t have to be a marathon runner to benefit from physical activity. Even light activities, if done daily, can help lower your risk.
  • Reducing salt intake: Often, when people with high blood pressure cut back on salt, their blood pressure falls. Cutting back on salt also prevents blood pressure from rising.
  • Drinking alcohol in moderation, if at all: Drinking too much alcohol can raise your blood pressure. So to help prevent high blood pressure, if you drink alcohol, limit how much you drink to no more than two drinks a day. The “Dietary Guidelines for Americans” recommend that for overall health, women should limit their alcohol to no more than one drink a day.
  • Reduce Stress: Stress can make blood pressure go up and over time may contribute to the cause of high blood pressure. There are many steps you can take to reduce your stress. The article on easing stress will get you started.

Other things, like dietary supplements, may also help prevent high blood pressure. Here’s a roundup of what’s being said about them.

  • Potassium. Eating foods rich in potassium will help protect some people from developing high blood pressure. You probably can get enough potassium from your diet, so a supplement isn’t necessary. Many fruits, vegetables, dairy foods, and fish are good sources of potassium.
  • Calcium. Populations with low calcium intakes have high rates of high blood pressure. However, it has not been proven that taking calcium tablets will prevent high blood pressure. But it is important to be sure to get at least the recommended amount of calcium — 1,000 milligrams per day for adults 19 to 50 years old and 1,200 mg for those over 50 (pregnant and breastfeeding women also need more) — from the foods you eat. Dairy foods like low-fat selections of milk, yogurt, and cheese are good sources of calcium. Low-fat and nonfat dairy products have even more calcium than the high-fat types.
  • Magnesium. A diet low in magnesium may make your blood pressure rise. But doctors don’t recommend taking extra magnesium to help prevent high blood pressure — the amount you get in a healthy diet is enough. Magnesium is found in whole grains, green leafy vegetables, nuts, seeds, and dry peas and beans.
  • Fish oils. A type of fat called “omega-3 fatty acids” is found in fatty fish like mackerel and salmon. Large amounts of fish oils may help reduce high blood pressure, but their role in prevention is unclear. Taking fish oil pills is not recommended because high doses can cause unpleasant side effects. The pills are also high in fat and calories. Of course, most fish, if not fried or made with added fat, is low in saturated fat and calories and can be eaten often.
  • Garlic. There has been some evidence to suggest garlic’s effect in lowering blood pressure in addition to improving cholesterol and reducing some cancers. Further research is being conducted to fully assess garlic’s potential health benefits.

Blessings, Chiquita

“Take Care of Your Temple!”
